Wandering around Cusco

Let me start off by saying I’ve never traveled alone before, so this is all new to me. Starting Saturday my agenda will be set for me by the tour group, and a good thing too, because I have a tendency to become paralyzed with indecisiveness. But I’m trying to overcome that, so I spent the afternoon wandering the streets of Cusco, with no particular agenda.

image

image

The day started out beautiful, warm, and sunny. I walked to the central area around the Plaza de Armas, which is a gorgeous park surrounded by incredible Spanish churches and less incredible tourist restaurants.

Eventually hunger got the best of me, and after considering the menus of far too many places, I stopped at a simple cafe for a chorizo sandwich and a cappuccino.

Having sustained myself, I ventured back out into the city. The skies promptly opened up. First a drizzle, then a downpour, then a full on hail storm. I don’t really mind rain when it’s warm out, but I was not dressed appropriately, so I scurried back to the hotel to change my clothes and drink a beer.

One does not go to Peru in the rainy season without expecting rain, so it’s fine, just gotta figure out what (indoor) activities to partake in next!

~ by kilbasar on January 25, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
