Another day alone in Cusco

As I’ve mentioned, this is my first time traveling alone. I’ve never been terribly good at being alone; if you know me, you know I talk a mile a minute, and I am very much a social creature. However, I’ve never been good at introducing myself to strangers. Actually I’m terrible at it. It’s one reason I don’t generally go out to clubs, and I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone at such a place.

Anyway, I had hoped this trip would force me out of this bad habit. Apparently not. I’ve now gone two days without having a real conversation with anyone, and I may be starting to go mad. Don’t get me wrong, I’m having a good time, but I’m also fiending to speak to someone who’s not a shop keeper, in something other than broken Spanish. Tomorrow night I join my G Adventures tour group, so it shouldn’t be too much longer.

So far today the weather has been great, warm and sunny. There are always ominous clouds on the horizon, and it will probably rain at some point, but I’ll enjoy it while it lasts. I walked around the city some more, eventually ending up at the Museo Inca. It is an archeological museum that covers everything from the oldest settlements until the Incas were pretty much entirely wiped out or assimilated by the Spanish. No photography was allowed, so you’ll just have to imagine the clay pottery, woven tapestries, and bronze spear heads for yourself.

3 hours of walking around builds quite an appetite, so it’s time to find some more food fuel. You also can’t walk half a block here without someone giving you a leaflet for a massage parlor, which vary in price from $6-$20 for an hour. I may have to check one out later.

~ by kilbasar on January 26, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
